Poth ISD Illness Guidelines
Deciding when to keep your child at home from school can be difficult. There are three reasons to keep (exclude) sick children from school:
If you are unsure, a complete list is provided by the Texas Department of State and Health Services’ Communicable Disease Chart. Please visit: www.dshs.state.tx.us
Children with minor illness need not to be excluded unless one or more of the following exist:
Your child must stay at home if he/she has an elevated temperature of 100.0 or greater with behavioral changes or illness. It is required by the Texas Department of State Health Services that your child be fever free, without medication for 24 hour before returning to school. Please review Coronavirus section below if fever present, exclusion guidelines are different.
If your child has symptoms such as cough, fever, chills, muscle pain, shortness of breath or difficulty breathing*, sore throat and/or new loss of taste or smell, please do not send your child to school and isolate at home. If your child has been exposed, please quarantine. Your child can attend school once multiple requirements have been met per CDC guidelines: If you think or know your child has Coronavirus, stay home until after 3 days with no fever, and symptoms improve, and 10 days since symptoms first appeared. If your child tested positive but does not have symptoms, stay home until after 10 days have passed since your positive test.
*If your child is short of breath or having difficulty breathing, seek medical care immediately.
If your child has diarrhea, which cannot be controlled, being frequent, loose, watery, containing blood or mucus; please keep them at home. The child should be free of any symptoms for 24 hours before coming to school.
Vomiting two or more times in 24 hours, unless a healthcare provider feels the cause of vomiting is not an infectious disease and the child is in no danger of becoming dehydrated.
If your child has an unidentifiable rash with discharge excreting from the wound, please keep them at home and consult with a healthcare provider for a diagnosis. If your child is sent to school with a rash and the school nurse evaluates the rash and sends your child home, a health care provider note is to be brought back when student returns to school to confirm a diagnosis.
Conjunctivitis (Pink Eye)
This is described as inflammation of the outermost layer and inner surface of the eye lid being “pink”. This can be caused by a virus, bacteria, or allergen. Once diagnosed by a healthcare provider, a child can return to school within 24 hours after the treatment begins. If the provider decides not to treat you child, a note is to be provided and brought to the school nurse before admission into school.
If your child has any type of wounds with discharge excreting from the wound, please keep them at home and consult with a healthcare provider for a diagnosis. The child may return within 24 hours after treatment starts. The wound must be covered with dressing and needs to be taped down on all four sides.
If your child is showing signs of fever, sore throat, headache and enlarged/reddened tonsils they should be seen by a healthcare provider. The child may return 24 hours after treatment starts.
If your child is showing signs of all over body aches, headache, fever, and/or extreme fatigue please do not send your child to school. The child can attend school once fever subsides or has been treated by healthcare provider.
If your child is showing signs of itching/scratching of the scalp, presence of pinpoint sized clear/white eggs (knits) that will not flick off the hair shaft or live lice bugs, please treat with an over the counter product. If the parent chooses to do the treatment themselves, a receipt and empty bottle of the product used will be requested by the school nurse. Children can return to school if one treatment is done and there are no signs of active bugs in hair. It is up to the parents to follow up with the next treatment within 7-10 days. However, if active lice bugs are found on upon returning to school, the child will be sent home and cannot return until live bugs are out of the hair.
Lice is not considered a communicable disease as per the Texas Department of State and Health Services, however it can become a nuisance and spread from head to head very quickly within school.
If you need any advice concerning your child/children regarding the Illness Guidelines, please call the school nurse at 830-484-2700, email firstname.lastname@example.org, and/or visit Poth ISD Health Services online at www.pothisd.us.
Poth ISD Health and Safety Guidelines for 2020-2021 School Year